top of page

5 students win scholarships

We are proud to announce scholarship awards to five journalism students for the Spring 2022 semester.
Roxanne De La Rosa, Reyna Preciado, Alyssa Gomez, Alexandra Mora Medina and
Jeremiah Sosa will receive the scholarships to assist them as they continue their journalism studies at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.

Spring 2022 scholarship winner Reyna Preciado, left, with ALMA President Al Macias. The organization awarded Preciado and four other students scholarships for the spring semester.


Fundraising like the silent auction at ALMA’s December holiday
celebration helps provide the scholarships. Scholarships range from $500 to $1,000.
“I just wanted to say thank you all so much for giving me this scholarship,” Preciado wrote
in a thank you note to the ALMA scholarships committee. “This truly means a lot to me and
will get me through my final semester, which I am very grateful for. I would love to attend
any events to show my appreciation in the upcoming year and will definitely be looking
forward to the workshop in March if the others do not align with my availability. For now, I
hope you all have a wonderful holiday season!”

bottom of page